Taking photos in Africa

Image

There is a competition – a photographic competition – and the winner gets the opportunity to take photos of farmers and communities ActionAid Australia and AFAP Action on Poverty work with in Kenya and Zimbabwe.

Part of the selection criteria is that the applicant preferably have some blog writing experience so as to be able to blog whilst in Africa. SO this is my blog writing kick up the butt, so to speak. I have had this account open for a few months and written nothing. So here goes…..

I love writing. I love taking photos. I love Africa. (Well there are many more things that I love but for this post I’ll keep it to those 3). I would love to travel to Africa and take photos of farmers and their communities on the road to food security. I have traveled to Africa twice in the past 6 years. My husband is South African. Most of his family live there. But this is not remote Africa, this is urban Cape Town. By no stretch is it remote like other parts of Africa. I would love to get a glimpse of that remoteness. I would love to photograph that remoteness. There is a different light in Africa. It was one of the first of many things I noticed on my first visit to South Africa. I want to experience it once again.

As part of the competition I am required to write about what food security means to me, as well as create a photo essay based on the same question. There is a big difference in what food security means to an Aussie girl and what it means to an African woman living in remote areas. I am going to try and find some underlying similarities. Hopefully more than the fact they are both female….

I might not win.Though I could possibly…. No matter the outcome I am grateful that this competition has sparked my inspiration, my curiosity, my creativity. (Though I would probably be pretty stoked if I did win).

Diego – Flirtatious South African Rooster

One thought on “Taking photos in Africa

Leave a Reply

