Get it done!

Life certainly is like a box of chocolates. One never knows what one is going to get. We might think something is exactly what we want, only to find out later that it is nothing of the sort. I have realised lately that using these “moments/experiences/circumstances” as stepping stones to get to where you do want to be, is far more beneficial than getting caught up in downward spiral thinking.

Life can be hard. Staying positive in the face of challenges isn’t an easy task. I’m reading a book called “Curious?” by Todd Kashdan at the moment in which he stresses the point of learning to deal with these moments rather than trying to simply wish them away. It is an inspiring read. I am beginning to implement these tactics into my day to day life.

I recently quit a job that wasn’t serving my general well being at all. I would arrive home often with a headache; bringing the stresses of the office home with me. I am glad I realised that it wasn’t worth it anymore and actually did something about it. I want to live a creatively abundant life. I want to write and take photos and not bring unnecessary stress home with me. I am in the process of applying for recognition of prior learning for a tafe course I started many years ago when living in Melbourne in my early twenties. I have also, since quitting, been approached to do some photo work locally. The universe is giving me little hints that I am heading in the “right” direction. It is nice to have these little reminders as we often do not give ourselves a real chance or our dreams a real go.

The below quote I have blu tacked to the wall by my desk –

Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness. Concerning all acts of initiative (and creation), there is one elementary truth the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans:That the moment one definitely commits oneself, the providence moves all manner of unforeseen incidents, meetings and material assistance, which no man (or woman) could have dreamt would have come his or her way.”     – William Hutchinson Murray

This is how I feel about quitting my job and starting on the things I have been pondering for years.

Just do it. Go out there and live this life. Inspire others to do the same!

Image

In bloom
Copyright Ketakii Jewson-Brown

3 thoughts on “Get it done!

  1. When you know what direction you are going, all uncertainty falls away, because all decisions are clearly made in the pursuit of that direction. And the world aligns to give you what you want. Because the world loves you and wants you to be happy. Even if it is the pursuit of misery that makes you happy. So be careful what you you wish for. And why not aim high? And go for what you really want. xx

Leave a Reply

